Microblogging News

All about Microblogging

Apparently, AOL loves about.me

Well, About.me almost made our blog with a public launch 4 days ago. Today they have made our blog BECAUSE AOL has already bought them. The sum of money in the acquisition is unknown although sources say it was around 5 million. The Founder, Tony Conrad, sold his last startup to AOL as well. The site, by my opinion, is much better than really its only competitor flavors.me (I have both). AOL is pretty much trying to buy everything that could become popular before it does to have something to combat with Google’s Youtube and Yahoo!’s Flickr. Really we don’t think about.me will grow as big as those but we will see, right now most of the users (according to the “Random” feature) about 8 out of 10 of its users have some type of tech involvement (founders or staff). We will be keeping a closer eye than we were on about.me now though.

Leave a Reply

